Quiet Logistics winners announced at John Connell Awards

Monday 05 November 2018

In recognition of their commitment to reducing noise pollution, Thermo King and Frigoblock have been announced as the winners of the Quiet Logistics Award, sponsored by the Freight Transport Association (FTA), at the Noise Abatement Society’s (NAS) 17th annual John Connell Awards. E-cargobikes.com received the ‘highly commended’ accolade.

Natalie Chapman, Head of South of England and Urban Policy, FTA, the only business group representing all of logistics, commented: “We’re thrilled the three businesses – e-cargobikes.com, Thermo King and Frigoblock – have been recognised for their dedication. These businesses are a great example of what can be achieved with an innovative mindset. It’s important to ensure any new quiet delivery strategy is adopted with the unique needs of your business in mind – a tailored, personalised approach is key to success. We would also like to congratulate one of our members, John Lewis Partnership, for winning the Quiet Mark Commercial Sector Award.​

“FTA is committed to reducing noise pollution on UK’s streets. That’s why we’ve collaborated with NAS for over a decade to develop methods to improve quiet deliveries, including investment in low-noise vehicles and equipment, and the development of quiet working practices. We’re proud to once again sponsor the Quiet Logistics award to champion the operators, manufacturers and equipment suppliers demonstrating dedication, innovation and leadership in managing noise pollution.”

Thermo King and Frigoblock, both of Ingersoll Rand, were recognised for their innovative suite of quiet, hybrid, low-emission, multi-platform and full-scale transport refrigeration solutions, and e-cargobikes.com were recognised for its ground-breaking silent, zero emission, multi-platform last mile delivery solution.

The ceremony, held at the Palace of Westminster on 24 October 2018, was hosted by Colonel Bob Stewart DSO, MP for Beckenham.

For more information on the awards please visit http://noiseabatementsociety.com/john-connell-awards